My photo blog… visual thoughts around me.

“Making the World Smile”

Have you ever wondered whether clowns just clown around or do they seem to have a purpose in what they are doing?

In pursuit of the answer I visited  Seaside Heights,NJ during their annual “Clownfest”. Initially I started out trying to compose a group shot but quickly became overwhelmed by all the colors and variations of clowns. Big,small, loud,silent, funny,sad… so many to choose from.  I decided to stop and head to the boardwalk to re-organize myself. I knew from my map that groups, and single clowns would be at different parts of the boardwalk during certain times throughout the day. I was surprised by how many very young children did not seem to like clowns. They even hid behind their parents when approached. But for every miss there was a home run just around the corner.

When adults and children started to truly interact, magic seemed to change their faces. The clowns also began to feed on this enthusiasm and boy was it infectious. Mimes attracted an older clientele, while balloon making clowns drew a younger crowd. Their colors and antics drew looks and then spontaneous interaction. Every clown had its own personality and schtick, which is pretty amazing considering there were over 50.

I found myself looking away from what they were doing and letting my mind be transported back to when I was a child. All I had to do was stand behind any group of clowns and peer over their shoulders to find a mirror image of a younger me in the faces of the crowd.

The answer…. “clowning around” has a deeper purpose. It provides us with an escape, a stage where we can get in touch with the happier times in our lives. If you don’t believe me then just look into the eyes of an audience, both young and old, who are watching clowns perform. You too will smile as you are transformed back — even if just for the moment.

 

 

33 responses

  1. Maxine Asher-Lopez

    Unbelievable work ,Miike. I am enammered by the beauty of it all-it is hard to believe that such vivid shots of nature can be captured -great talent! Max

    Like

    February 10, 2012 at 1:01 am

    • Thank you for stopping by Max and glad to hear you like the pics.

      Like

      February 11, 2012 at 11:48 am

  2. Colorful and bright. Just happy faces whose smiles are generous and real. How I wish everyday is like that….maybe for 2012 it will be. Happy New Year my friend….wishing you another year of abundant inspiration.

    Like

    January 3, 2012 at 1:34 am

    • Thanks ‘IT’… it was one of those magical days. Many smiles and even some tears. 🙂

      Like

      January 16, 2012 at 3:25 pm

  3. Ian

    I like this web site it’s a master piece! Glad I observed this on google.

    Like

    October 27, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    • Thanks Ian… I am trying to use the web the best I can. Happy you liked it.

      Like

      November 6, 2011 at 10:49 pm

  4. very good submit, i certainly love this website, keep on it

    Like

    October 20, 2011 at 5:37 am

    • Boris I really appreciate your comment, I try to post 2 times a month and will definitely keep on it. 🙂

      Like

      October 20, 2011 at 7:41 pm

  5. Great job Mike! Love all the color.

    Like

    October 17, 2011 at 10:23 am

    • Thanks ‘D’…. the colors are what drew me in, but the interesting people kept me going.

      Like

      October 17, 2011 at 7:24 pm

  6. I personally have never liked clowns.. they just freak me out for some reason.. But your pictures are awesome as usual!!! so nice.. 😀

    Like

    October 9, 2011 at 3:29 am

    • Thanks Abby…. many people have the same feeling. The kids I saw had mixed reactions also…. but the ones that interacted were priceless.

      Like

      October 9, 2011 at 4:56 am

  7. A clown convention – I bet that was really something to behold.
    I’m afraid I fall into the ‘clowns are creepy camp’. I suspect this has a lot to do with Stephen King.

    Like

    October 6, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    • LOL… so hard not to go there. I had just as much fun watching the people react to the clowns.

      Like

      October 6, 2011 at 8:44 pm

  8. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    Hey, I came by because of your comment on that ‘Broken’ story blog – ‘love & history are blind’ you said. I never heard history was blind, only love – but yes, history is blind. So anyway! Came by and I LOVE your photos. That guy climbing on the cliff, that’s so so amazing. Really amazing. You’re a wonderful photographer.

    Like

    October 4, 2011 at 3:48 am

    • Thank you so much for looking and I really appreciate your comments. I wish I could write as well as you but this is what it is all about. Hopefully being exposed to such fantastic writing mine will improve.

      Like

      October 4, 2011 at 4:13 am

  9. I am smiling, and enjoying colours on your pictures 🙂

    Like

    October 2, 2011 at 5:37 am

    • Sabina… nice to hear from you. The colors were fantastic that day and the smiles everywhere.

      Like

      October 2, 2011 at 6:58 pm

  10. Love these photos! They put a big smile on my face 😀

    Like

    October 1, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    • Thanks Marie… I did not know which way I was going to go with the post but I’m glad I took the smile angle.

      Like

      October 1, 2011 at 9:36 pm

  11. Pingback: Linky Linky… « I Love Clowns!

  12. I love youre thoughts, and your photos.

    Like

    October 1, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    • Pinky thanks for the link on your Clown Blog. It means alot.

      Like

      October 1, 2011 at 9:35 pm

  13. Mcp

    So there is more to the Jersey Shore other than the TV program… 🙂

    Like

    October 1, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    • Thats funny…. yes much more and in a good way. Thanks for looking. Mike

      Like

      October 1, 2011 at 12:55 pm

  14. Wow! What an event, what color and what fun! Nice post Mike.

    Like

    October 1, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    • Thanks Sue…. it was almost too much color for me, but had a great time.

      Like

      October 1, 2011 at 9:29 pm

  15. These pictures really captured the essence of the event…and they were so much fun to look at! 🙂

    Like

    October 1, 2011 at 10:10 am

    • I had more fun than usual Julie…. I’ve got to take more people shots. Seeing you had my fav lens… believe it or not, but all these were taken with the 100-400!!!

      Like

      October 1, 2011 at 9:34 pm

  16. Mike, great color, great grabs, happy faces, the little boy with the apple(?) against his nose made me smile, and nice commentary. I was really fooled by the makeup in the group shot. Whiich one was really you?

    Like

    October 1, 2011 at 8:43 am

    • Thanks Ralph but I got kicked out of the group shot…. not enough make-up 🙂

      Like

      October 1, 2011 at 9:31 pm

  17. Bonnie

    The shots are amazing. They all have such feeling in them. I love the picture of the older woman in the wheelchair. I wonder if she was a clown at one time and was just happy to be back among her own.

    Like

    October 1, 2011 at 8:06 am

    • I love that back story Bonnie…. It could be. It is one of my fav’s too.

      Like

      October 1, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Hey...let me know what you think!!!

