My photo blog… visual thoughts around me.

” A Photographer’s Dance “

Click…click…click, that is my camera’s heartbeat.
Step…twirl…leap, can you hear the dancer’s feet.

Movement forever frozen by the click of a shutter.
Flow and expression released in a flutter.

Click… the rhythmic forms are created.
Captured and released, never anticipated.

Click …click…click, that is my heartbeat.

The focus of a moment gives way to the subtle
but unmistakable, mechanical … click.

Playful, sensual, moody…click… I feel the beat.

A visual and kinetic form become one,
it is my dance now.

CLICK…. the heartbeat of the photographer’s dance.

Photographs created in post. Taken during a workshop by Lois Greenfield in NYC.

39 responses

  1. Stunning work, Mike….

    Like

    July 23, 2012 at 9:10 am

  2. Your photos are spectacular! Just stunning! And your written works are very refreshing. I have really enjoyed visiting your blog and I will be coming back. Blessings, Celeste

    Like

    January 23, 2012 at 1:35 am

    • Thank you very much Celeste… also thanks for the follow.

      Like

      January 24, 2012 at 1:17 am

  3. thank you mike for following my blog and liking my post. thank you for sharing your beautiful photos..i’ll surely visit your blog from time to time 🙂

    Like

    December 17, 2011 at 12:42 am

    • My pleasure… I try and post about twice a month.

      Like

      December 17, 2011 at 4:28 pm

  4. Every flow, rhythym , emotion, even the muscle movement were all captured in a beautiful, moving, poetic way. The colors also are dramatic and evokes a deeper emotion. Just wonderful. Happy Holidays…

    Like

    December 15, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    • ‘IT’… first love your blog, thanks so much for your comments. Dance pics can be so hit or miss, I am glad you could feel and see the emotion.

      Like

      December 16, 2011 at 11:22 pm

  5. I am green with envy, no mortal soul should be great in two art forms at once. Your poem’s imagery appealed to a sense many poets often overlook, the sense of hearing. Magnificent photos, marvelous verses.

    Like

    December 14, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    • Thank you so much ‘AZ’… I had been playing around with a poem for a while but could not find the right set of pics to make it ring true. It means a lot coming fro such a prolific writer. Love your blog!!!!

      Like

      December 16, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    • Thank you so much ‘AZ’… I had a poem in the works for a while but could not find the right set of pics to go with it. Appreciate the comments from such a prolific writer. Love your blog!!!!

      Like

      December 16, 2011 at 11:20 pm

  6. dude, awesome awesome …….

    Like

    December 13, 2011 at 10:18 am

    • Thanks for stopping… I try to post about 2 times a month.

      Like

      December 13, 2011 at 7:25 pm

  7. Snow? Snow? I thought it was my dandruff falling over my monitor.

    Great work, Mike. Pretty heady images and prose. It’s great to feel and see the art along with the technical quality of the images.

    I also like #9. I haven’t done that in years.

    I like them all but #11 is special for the composition, the exhuberance, the tossed hair…

    Like

    December 12, 2011 at 10:55 am

    • Thanks so much Ralph… sorry about the snow, its hopeful thinking. I have been feeling a poem for some time but certain groups of images did not lend themselves to it until I re-visited my dance pics. I wish I could take credit for the tossed hair…. such is the life of a photographer. 🙂

      Like

      December 13, 2011 at 11:29 pm

  8. As always you amaze me Mike, your pictures are so full of life, so emotional and enchanting.. Thank you for sharing.. I think you should check out this blog, he is an up and coming photographer and is really good..:-)
    http://calligraphyoflight.wordpress.com/

    Like

    December 11, 2011 at 12:20 am

    • Aby… always great to hear from you. Thanks for the heads up to the other blog… I love to check out new work.

      Like

      December 11, 2011 at 5:35 pm

      • you are welcome, always a pleasure to introduce fellow photographers.. 😀

        Like

        December 13, 2011 at 10:20 am

  9. These are absolutely beautiful! You’ve shown us a couple before but it certainly make a bolder statement as a collection. I would say this was a very successful workshop for sure! Was it more than one day? My favorites are the airborne ones and think the one where all 3 are in the air is super strong. Congrats on creating such a stunning series.

    Like

    December 9, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    • Thanks Denise… without Ralphs and your blog guidance I would not have a place like this to show some of the different kinds of photos from a shoot. Yes it was a 2 day shoot. The airborne ones were the hardest to time and get each one in the right position.

      Like

      December 11, 2011 at 5:34 pm

  10. Jack Mroz

    I believe this to be your best work Mike. Exceptional captures of feelings and emotions, very powerful. I see many award winners here. Great job!!

    You put that snow in your blog just for me, right, since we just got 3 inches up here last night. Thanks Mike.

    Like

    December 8, 2011 at 9:46 am

    • Yes you caught me Jack…snow just for you. Thanks for your insights and comments. I am so happy that the pics conveyed their emotions.

      Like

      December 8, 2011 at 9:02 pm

  11. Joanna Patterson

    Spectacular, Mike. You have expertly captured several moods of the dancers. There are three, which i find most evocative. Number 2 is exquisite in form & line and rich in tone. It is very sensuous and delicious. Number 9 is so sexual/sensual. It reminds me of my youth. The last one captures such exuberance and high energy, a zest for life. Great job, and I love the way you took the energy of the dancers, embodied and transmuted it to make it your own as the observer/photographer, so that you became a participant in the dance of life.
    Beautiful!

    Like

    December 8, 2011 at 1:30 am

    • Thanks so much Joanna. I felt honored to be there with them. The dancers shared so much of their form and personality that it became easy to take the pics. Timing on the other hand was a little problematic for me. I am glad you liked the post as much as I had taking the shots.

      Like

      December 8, 2011 at 9:00 pm

  12. Bonnie Rovere

    Simply stunning photographs…and I love the snow!!

    Like

    December 7, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    • Thanks Bonnie… the snow is kinda wishful thinking. 🙂

      Like

      December 8, 2011 at 1:24 am

  13. Walter Jo

    Stunning work. The essence of a dancer captured beautifully.

    Like

    December 7, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    • Thank you so much for your comments Jo. I was looking for that essence all day and I am glad you saw and felt it.

      Like

      December 7, 2011 at 9:54 pm

  14. Linda Kamholz

    They’re all beautiful, Mike. Hard to pick a favorite. I’ll bet you came home from that workshop with about a gazillion images!

    Like

    December 7, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    • More like a bazillion. Timing was everything, so many were just a little off. Thanks Linda.

      Like

      December 7, 2011 at 9:52 pm

  15. Wonderful!

    Like

    December 7, 2011 at 1:15 pm

  16. I love these. There’s so much raw power and emotion in them!

    Like

    December 7, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    • The emotion was natural as for the power… years of practice. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

      December 7, 2011 at 6:46 pm

  17. Mike,

    Wonderful! I like the black and white and the low saturation images. You can truly focus on the the lines of the dancers.

    Like

    December 7, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    • I love changing it up during post processing…thanks Pat.

      Like

      December 7, 2011 at 6:47 pm

  18. Barbara Fallon

    You can feel the intensity and passion in the photographs. My favorite is the ninth one.
    Beautiful work

    Like

    December 7, 2011 at 10:28 am

    • I am glad that came out as this was my first time shooting dancers and was not sure if my pics would show this… thanks Barb.

      Like

      December 7, 2011 at 6:49 pm

  19. Eva

    Ab So Lute Ly Beau Ti Ful

    Like

    December 7, 2011 at 1:48 am

    • Love the comment… kinda how I spell before spell check kicks in…thanks EVA.

      Like

      December 7, 2011 at 6:51 pm

Hey...let me know what you think!!!

