My photo blog… visual thoughts around me.

“WAITING FOR SPRING”

"Frozen"

Besides the obvious cold… winter can be magical. It’s mesmerizing to see how frost can capture nature in frigid moments. You can get lost in all the icy mosaics that are formed in trees and fields while, ponds and lakes take on a more abstract look. The swirls and bubbles that are frozen in time make for very creative patterns.  Where I live, snow fall can be elusive as it comes in either knee-deep drifts, or a lite dusting. Its silent presence is breath-taking, in more ways than one.   I find the experience of shooting during a snowfall to be very different then that of shooting the aftermath. Fresh snow seems to evoke a quiet, eerie otherworldly feeling. The size and rate of its descent can also have a dramatic effect on a composition so much so that, the final photograph can turn out very different then what was originally seen.

How do you capture this feeling in a photograph? Do you show the romantic side or its twisted finale. I found I could not choose. Just as my feelings and moods change, so do the cold frozen moments that materialize in front of my lens. I must eventually rely on form and contrast to guide me. It is helpful to stop and take it all in, feel the tiny flakes melt on your face, let your breath fog things up—- eventually you experience a more visual energy.  I,  like my subjects,  also feel the cold settle in and slow my movements.  My time here is done, but my photographs will hopefully freeze this time of year for all to relive as…. we patiently count the days till the vernal equinox.

55 responses

  1. Mike, I admire your work capturing your great series of winter photos here! I’ll be back and follow you!

    Like

    February 16, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    • Thanks Truels for the visit and kind comments…. love your blog too!!

      Like

      February 17, 2012 at 10:02 pm

  2. ahhh beautiful pictures!

    Like

    January 19, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    • Thanks so much for the follow.

      Like

      January 24, 2012 at 1:05 am

  3. Hey Mike, absolutely stunning images. My favs are #7 and the last image and your writing takes the reader there with you as well.

    Like

    January 19, 2012 at 5:44 am

    • Yes … that last pic is special. Extremely cold that day and kept fogging up the back of the camera… but in the end it was worth it. Thanks for the comments.

      Like

      January 24, 2012 at 1:05 am

  4. Wow, how stunning! The photo titled “winter-9” is my favourite. I adore B&W. Thank you for sharing your talent with us! 🙂

    Like

    January 15, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    • Yeesss… that photo was taken bout 2yrs ago where I live. I titled it “Winters Path” and was received very highly in juried shows and at my club. You have great taste 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by.

      Like

      January 16, 2012 at 3:19 pm

  5. Blood-Ink-Diary

    Gosh! you are just too brilliant a photographer! keep clicking and I hope to see spring as much as you are hoping! Cheers, my friend.

    Like

    January 13, 2012 at 12:47 am

    • Thanks so much for the follow. So glad you feel the passion in my pictures.

      Like

      January 14, 2012 at 1:02 am

  6. Barbara

    I love, love, love these pictures. I like nothing better than seeing the crisp, cleaness of new fallen snow. I love even more your emotional almost poetic description of the of the pictures and the freshness of the season’s gifts. I think you are finding your voice along with fulfilling your passion for photography. It has been a pleasure to see and hear your voices grow. It is such a pleasure and surprise to hear both voices.

    Like

    January 13, 2012 at 12:07 am

    • Thanks Barb for the kind words. It’s taken awhile to find my writing voice as I am much more comfortable behind the camera.

      Like

      January 14, 2012 at 1:01 am

  7. sharon

    Mike your images are simply magnificent…they seem to transcend to another place and time…so calming yet powerful… Looking at them intently,takes my breath away….Keep it coming…

    Like

    January 12, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    • Hopefully you can breathe a sigh of relief until the next post …. really appreciate the follow and comments.

      Like

      January 14, 2012 at 12:59 am

  8. I am in awe of your shots. WOW. I like how you mentioned being in the moment and embracing what winter is. That shows in each one of your pictures

    Like

    January 11, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    • Thanks so much…. when you take pics the photographer sees the beauty. I am just glad you were able to feel it also.

      Like

      January 11, 2012 at 10:29 pm

  9. What gorgeous winter photos. You live in a beautiful place. 🙂

    Like

    January 11, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    • Most people do not realize that NJ is also farmlands and pinelands… of which I have been blessed to live in the middle of. Thanks for the visit.

      Like

      January 11, 2012 at 10:27 pm

  10. Had to go back and looks at your images for inspiration…..each one celebrates life and the beauty around us. Thanks for capturing nature with a heart !

    Like

    January 11, 2012 at 7:45 am

    • ‘IT’ … just can’t keep you away.. 🙂 I really like you last line… many thanks.

      Like

      January 11, 2012 at 10:24 pm

  11. Just discovered your blog.
    YOU ARE AMAZING.

    These images are simply breathe taking.

    Great job!

    Like

    January 11, 2012 at 5:27 am

    • Glad you finally found it.. 🙂 Thank you for your comments.

      Like

      January 11, 2012 at 10:23 pm

  12. Joanna Patterson

    Wonderful winter shots Mike. I especially like the one with the bubbles under the ice, combined with the brilliantly blue water.

    I am waiting for some real winter weather myself, and can really appreciate your expression regarding the mystical feeling that comes along with the snow flakes melting on your skin and the profound quiet that can come with a winter snowfall. It’s one of those times when one can feel reverence for mother nature.

    Thanks, Mike.
    Joanna

    Like

    January 11, 2012 at 2:16 am

    • Joanna … I thought you had enough of cold weather after your visit to Antarctica!!!! Those bubbles just stood out when I saw them. You are so right about the feeling of nature. Thanks so much for your comments.

      Like

      January 11, 2012 at 10:22 pm

  13. Breathtaking!! My favorite was the one with the bird in it 🙂
    Hope you are having a wonderful day!
    Andrea

    Like

    January 10, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    • Hey … that was a last minuet entry. I thought it came out really nice also. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      January 11, 2012 at 10:19 pm

  14. Wonderful collection of wintry images, Mike. I can’t wait for the snow, this has been an unusually strange winter so far…

    Like

    January 10, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    • You and me both brother… thanks for the visit and comment.

      Like

      January 11, 2012 at 10:18 pm

  15. denisebushphoto

    A beautiful collection Mike and a nice experience to see them all together. Let it snow!

    Like

    January 10, 2012 at 9:03 am

    • Thanks ‘D’… thats one of the reasons I put this post together. They all seemed to fit.

      Like

      January 11, 2012 at 10:17 pm

  16. The ice blue, Winter white and ebony shades of colors are just amazing. Each photo illustrates a dramatic image so stunning it make me pause as my mind wander and my imagination takes flight. Beautiful my friend. Thanks to Sabina, it led me to a zen-like Winter images! Have a great day.

    Like

    January 10, 2012 at 4:08 am

    • Many thanks to Sabina also…. the funny thing is that I thought I would not be able to find any color…. very happily wrong. Many things came together… colder weather and especially SNOW… not this year so far but I am hoping.

      Like

      January 11, 2012 at 9:31 am

  17. Terrific series of images, Mike! I’m particularly fond of the ice/water abstracts.

    Like

    January 10, 2012 at 12:15 am

    • Me too… at first I was not attracted to abstracts but as time wore on they started to emerge. Glad you liked them.

      Like

      January 11, 2012 at 9:27 am

  18. Beautiful work, Mike!

    Like

    January 9, 2012 at 5:53 pm

    • Julie… much appreciated as always.

      Like

      January 9, 2012 at 9:58 pm

  19. A beautiful Blog site you have.. Such wonderful Photo’s I came via Sabina’s .. Winter is indeed a Wonderland… Wishing you Greetings for a wonderful New Year. ~Dreamwalker

    Like

    January 9, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    • Thanks so much Sue… isn’t great to find new blogs. Thanks for stopping.

      Like

      January 9, 2012 at 9:58 pm

  20. A beautiful post, Mike. We’ve had only one significant snowfall all winter, and the temperatures in Omaha are unseasonable warm. It is supposed to climb into the mid-50s today. It’s very pleasant, indeed, but it’s wrong and it’s actually quite frightening. It’s good to know that you’re having some, enjoying it, and taking full advantage of its beauty! BTW, my favorites are 6 and 9, with 12 very close behind.

    Like

    January 9, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    • You are so right… we had only a dusting this year…. these are all from last year. Thanks so much for the comments.

      Like

      January 9, 2012 at 9:57 pm

  21. Frozenly beautiful… 🙂

    Like

    January 9, 2012 at 9:04 am

    • Chillingly back at you!!!! 🙂

      Like

      January 9, 2012 at 9:55 pm

  22. OOh my god!! these pictures are so magical, they give me a mystique feeling.. 🙂

    Like

    January 9, 2012 at 8:15 am

    • Just trying to get that magical chill to my blog. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

      January 9, 2012 at 9:55 pm

  23. Love the ice and water drops underneath. Great reflections.

    Like

    January 9, 2012 at 7:33 am

    • Thanks Dan… wish we had more snow like you up there.

      Like

      January 9, 2012 at 9:53 pm

  24. I reblogged your post. I hope, you don’t mind 🙂

    Like

    January 9, 2012 at 5:48 am

    • Never a problem for followers of this blog…enjoy!!!!

      Like

      January 9, 2012 at 9:52 pm

  25. Pingback: Waiting for the spring « Taste of life by Sabi

  26. I like winter. Alas this year there is no snow and frost here…

    Like

    January 9, 2012 at 5:38 am

    • No snow here either… we just had a dusting. All these were shot last year.

      Like

      January 9, 2012 at 9:49 pm

  27. fiebs

    Great series! Where did you shoot these?

    Like

    January 9, 2012 at 5:21 am

    • All were shot within 5 miles of my home…most even closer. Just clik the link on this blog.

      Like

      January 9, 2012 at 9:47 pm

  28. Jan Narducci

    Mike-
    You are a true poet with verse. Your winter photos are beautirul. Though, coming from Buffalo, NY I do prefer the summer. The only snow I like is on a Christmas Card or a photograph- this meaning yours.

    Here’s to a snow free winter.
    Jan

    Like

    January 9, 2012 at 2:22 am

    • Not sure about the poet … so glad you liked the pics.

      Like

      January 9, 2012 at 9:45 pm

Hey...let me know what you think!!!

