My photo blog… visual thoughts around me.

“OUR COMMON DENOMINATOR”

"Fiddling For You"

When at first taking photographs, the human element can be very intimidating. Being shy about approaching people does not help in finding subjects. My love of photography acts as a kind of ice breaker. Unless it is street photography, I always ask, whomever I am shooting if it is okay. This initial introduction is like a conduit for what will hopefully come next. My interaction, from this point, becomes much more personal as we talk about their life stories and mine. I can connect with ones eyes which helps me better record the light that both dances on their faces and frames the subject. This brief conversation is what bonds us and connects my pictures to them.

Street photography, on the other hand, is still hard for me. You would think being somewhat shy, that this form would suit my personality. For some reason, without the personal interaction, I feel a disconnect during this type of shooting. The more I study and interact with this process, I feel the better I might become. The interesting part in street photography, and probably what brings me back, is that I can catch a more natural unfolding human story. Unlike anything else, these snippets of life always convey the human connection to my images.

Environmental portraiture for me puts it all together. I get instant feedback from my sometimes elusive subjects doing what is important, to them. With this type of picture-taking, I find I can tie all elements together, much like landscape photography. This connection can be instant or will develop over the course of the shoot. I feel this shared knowing is the bond we both experience. As my subject opens up, so do I… voices and stories turn into an instant slice of life, a frozen piece of time.

The human element in these pictures is what I am most passionate about. What someone sees, and what I try to emote, is what connects a single frame from my camera to what you actually view. Can you hear their voices, share in their existence, form a story? Then,Β  the common denominator that bonds the stories I feel I can tell with a single image, is …. YOU.

28 responses

  1. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    Like

    October 7, 2012 at 2:24 pm

  2. You are so talented. The Fiddler One is by far my favorite.

    Like

    April 25, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    • Thanks Tori… at first I had passed over him when editing… then it was like, this pic had everything I wanted in a street shot. Glad it spoke to you too.

      Like

      April 26, 2012 at 12:57 am

      • I’m so glad you included it.

        Like

        April 26, 2012 at 8:16 am

  3. Linda Kamholz

    Nice gallery, Mike. I, too, feel shy about asking permission to photograph people, although I’ve found that most folks are amenable to having their picture taken. I especially like the one of the women using her electronic device — whatever it is. I’ll bet you didn’t ask her permission — she seems totally preoccupied.

    Like

    April 24, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    • Welllllllll Linda you are right. I try and ask when ever I can, but when moving and shooting in a public place that is almost impossible. One trick that has worked for me …. is to shoot with a long lens to capture people in a more natural state and to also keep my distance…. doesn’t always work. πŸ™‚

      Like

      April 25, 2012 at 12:25 am

  4. these are just so wonderful

    Like

    April 24, 2012 at 10:55 pm

    • Lance … thanks so much for your dedicated follow of my blog and leaving a comment. I really do appreciate the feedback. Love the title to your blog.

      Like

      April 25, 2012 at 12:20 am

  5. Joanna Patterson

    As always a delightful collection of photos (this time portraits), which in fact, do give insight into each of the owners storires. For being shy, Mike, you have really broken through your blocks and connected with each of these folks on a personal level. Great pics and great job well done. This is an area which I would like to greatly improve. Thanks for your example of overcoming your apprehension and doing it anyway.

    Like

    April 24, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    • Joanna… so glad these photos resonate with you. Trust me I have not conquered my demons yet. I am just very driven at times and keep plugging away .

      Like

      April 25, 2012 at 12:15 am

  6. Very good post, Mike; you have put a lot of thought into this, and you do honor to your subjects. I hope this will help to encourage more of your followers to take those extra steps–it can be so rewarding. Beautiful examples, too. I am particularly fond of your fiddler and the fish-monger.

    Like

    April 24, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    • Thanks Gary… the fiddler was shot at the Italian Market in Phila,PA and the fish guy was on the coast in Oregon. Both were examples of street pics, taken while walking around.

      Like

      April 25, 2012 at 12:12 am

  7. To photograph people is a theme that I need to work on to improve. Therefore, I read your post here with interest. And I looked at your fine portraits with even more interest πŸ™‚

    Like

    April 24, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    • Truels …I am still learning… glad to help. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

      April 25, 2012 at 10:02 pm

  8. Very insightful. Love your pictures, they really tell a story.

    Like

    April 24, 2012 at 4:10 am

    • Zelmare…. so glad they made you feel that way.

      Like

      April 24, 2012 at 8:04 am

  9. Awesome work, as always. See? People aren’t so difficult…:)

    Like

    April 23, 2012 at 10:14 am

    • Kinda funny coming from someone who shoots peeps all the time… πŸ™‚

      Like

      April 25, 2012 at 10:01 pm

  10. Bonnie

    It took me a few minutes of looking at the fiddler to realize he wasn’t playing a violin. I was absorbed in the photo itself. Such a good feel.

    Like

    April 23, 2012 at 9:05 am

    • You and me both… when I took it I only saw his face and kept what I thought was a violin in frame. Got home and studied it a little closer…. nice eye!!!

      Like

      April 25, 2012 at 9:59 pm

  11. OOOH my gosh Mike!! you amaze me every time!! your pictures are stunning!! sooo beautiful!!! πŸ™‚

    Like

    April 23, 2012 at 8:41 am

    • Hey Abby… I really appreciate your dedication to following my blog and commenting.

      Like

      April 23, 2012 at 10:11 am

      • with such awesome pictures, i cant bare to stay away!!! πŸ˜€

        Like

        April 23, 2012 at 11:17 am

  12. I can definitely hear them, some more audibly than the rest πŸ˜€

    Like

    April 23, 2012 at 5:44 am

    • BackStory…. very nice to hear an dread your comment. I hear their voices every time I see a pic fro this series.

      Like

      April 25, 2012 at 9:58 pm

  13. Reblogged this on pondermoment.

    Like

    April 23, 2012 at 12:18 am

Hey...let me know what you think!!!

