My photo blog… visual thoughts around me.

“There’s Always Another Point of View”

"Serenity"

“Serenity”

In the summer, I usually look forward to visiting Maine. I primarily go to take classes at the Maine Media College in Rockport. On my most recent trip, I included a couple of extra days so I could shoot part of Acadia NP with Stephen Johnson. He was also going to be my instructor at the college. Needless to say, weather plays a very important part in outdoor photography, sometimes fog, rain or extreme sun can throw a wrench into getting a good shot. My motto is “ you can’t shoot it if you are not there “, so I just kept my fingers crossed and prayed to the photo gods. I know nothing is ever perfect but I always try to make the best of what is presented to me at the moment.

The above composition was taken on my drive up to Acadia. I had stopped for my yearly “lobster roll” in the town of Wiscasset. The most publicized place there is “Reds Eats” but, it is normally packed and I really hate lines. Just across the street is “Sprague’s Lobsters”, which has a beautiful deck overlooking the inlet, and shorter lines so it was a no brainer. While eating and dodging gulls, the sky became overcast and shadows started opening up around the pilings. I observed the clouds, along with the movement of the gulls, and was able to dial in a shot that had all these qualities and yet spoke volumes about the intimate serenity enjoyed in nature.

"Cable View"

“Cable View”

About 2 hours further up the road, this amazing cable bridge came into view. I immediately turned around and found an outlook point and started framing pictures, from very wide to more isolated. The last comp here is a cropped version of my larger photo. I loved how the dark shadows formed a ‘V’ down each side while the clouds were a bonus and added a much-needed background. FYI… the Penobscot Narrows Bridge was finished in 2006 and is located in Fort Knox NP.

"Cobblestone Portal"

“Cobblestone Portal”

acadiaws-4

“Spiraling Down”

A day later I finally made it into Acadia NP and came across one of 16 cobblestone bridges which criss-cross the park. I was fascinated by its structure and how it seemed to frame what was on the other side. After shooting many variations I turned my lens to some of the many plants in this area and found this fern which drew my eye and camera down its spiraling fronds.

"Lichen Crossroads"

“Lichen Crossroads”

Now was the time near sunset to drive to the top of Cadillac Mountain. Clouds and an overcast sky made it very difficult to get a decent sunset shot. After circumnavigating the top of this mountain, I came across many lichen covered rock formations. They took my camera in many directions until this almost perfectly carved cross came popping out. I am still amazed at how many colors nature presents to me in the outdoors.

"Lifting My Spirits"

“Lifting My Spirits”

"Mussel Beach"

“Mussel Beach”

"Schoodic Point View"

“Schoodic Point”

The next day I decided not to fight the crowds of summer and take a trip to the opposite side of Bar Harbor. Schoodic Point Road toward Winter Harbor turned out to be the perfect choice. No crowds and many pull-offs to hike out and take in the view. The first shot was made after a short hike through the woods where I found the fog just starting to lift. I noticed a sailboat tacking back and forth so I waited until it was parallel to the dock. While waiting for the boat to come back, I looked down at what was crunching beneath my feet. Shells… thousands of them, all cracked open. I learned that gulls drop them on the rocks to break them and then eat the mussels. To me they formed this wonderfully colorful ode to why I was there. Sometimes it is not to make the iconic most oft taken picture but instead, be witness to what is around and embrace it. The last photo was at Winter Harbor, on the point, and the sun was now at its apex … noon… kinda like the bewitching hour for photographers. I strolled out to the slippery point and concentrated on the shadows and how the tide and waves were moving in. I learn a lot about the area and myself while shooting. Just like the rhythm of the ocean around me… take it in, flow with it and do not fight the moment. Just being there is what life’s all about…. I do  not dismiss those iconic places, as I will be back when the crowds dissipate and the skies open up, hopefully with a fresh eye and a new “ point of view “.

 

47 responses

  1. Can’t believe I had to say goodbye to Summer this weekend. My son starts school tomorrow. Good thing we have pictures and memories to remind us how this season created so much amazing events that made us appreciate the many joys and surprises of life. Have a great weekend.

    Like

    August 25, 2013 at 8:48 am

  2. Inspiring perspective and yes, awesome pictures as always. Have a great week!

    Like

    August 19, 2013 at 3:03 am

  3. Enjoyable post. “Cable View” is my fave. I’m heading up that way in early November.

    Like

    August 7, 2013 at 9:31 am

  4. You make me want to return to Maine! I love the lifting spirits photo. The panoramic soft muted tones convey a feeling of serenity. I llike what you said about “flowing with the moment”…something I wish I could do!

    Like

    July 27, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    • Than you Amy… once you feel the flow , the rest will follow.

      Like

      July 27, 2013 at 10:26 pm

  5. You captured many nice images on your trip here, I love this series!

    Like

    July 20, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    • Big thanks for the comments and visit Truels.

      Like

      July 21, 2013 at 8:54 pm

  6. Great job embracing the gifts that presented themselves!

    Like

    July 20, 2013 at 7:40 am

    • Thanks ‘D’… life is to short not to.

      Like

      July 21, 2013 at 8:53 pm

  7. I have always wanted to visit Maine- thanks for sharing. A few of my fav’s… Serenity, Spiraling down (great find), and lift my spirits!

    Like

    July 11, 2013 at 11:42 pm

    • Thanks Cindy… that spiraling down seems a surprise to me from many viewers. I saw it and responded but was not sure others would feel the same. As always… thanks for keeping in touch… I will try very hard to do the same 🙂

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:43 am

  8. Beautiful, fascinating images…. This is an area I’ve never visited, but have always, always wanted to.

    Like

    July 11, 2013 at 9:15 am

    • You should find the time… thanks for stopping by… big fan of your posts also.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:40 am

  9. Mike, this is another great set of images in a great place. I love the coast of Maine, especially Acadia. You stories about adapting to conditions proves that there is always a great photograph if you keep your eyes open and look for it.

    Like

    July 10, 2013 at 5:58 am

    • Sorry for the delay Rich… been doing the out and about shooting thing!!! Always great to hear from you and your take on the compositions…. I’ll keep looking as I know you will also. Thanks for the visit.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:38 am

  10. Iwalani

    Maine has been on my bucket list for way too long without a check mark next to it. Another beautiful set, Mike. Love the fern and Serenity.

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    • I thought you would like ‘Serenity’… the fern seems to be a surprise fav amongst viewers.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:35 am

  11. Cable View is awesome. Simple and almost cartoonish! We must share a similar sense of composition because I can see what caught your eye in each of the images, regardless of time of day or weather conditions. It’s fun to wander around and shoot these scenes and I really enjoy viewing your images while you do the same thing!

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    • Hey right back at ya…. big fan of your pics and travels. It opens my eyes also to see someone else’s take on a place and then insert myself… what would i see and or compose.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:34 am

  12. Beautiful pictures! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 5:05 pm

  13. Nice, Mike. Love the Fern tunnel. It occurs to me that you do a lot of cropping in your viewfinder, giving us slices of scenes. A nice writeup as well.

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    • I find that the more I see around me the more I am apt to crop closer. I actually have to work on seeing wider shots when composing… your insight is greatly appreciated.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:27 am

  14. Pat

    Lovely images. The reflections in “Serenity” are absolutely gorgeous.

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    • Thanks for the comment.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:24 am

  15. Lisa

    Awesome images. Serenity & Cable View are my favorites. I enjoyed reading the narrative. You have a gift for storytelling.

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 11:54 am

    • Still working on my writing voice… happy you liked it.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:24 am

  16. Kathleen

    Awesome images Mike. Glad you had a nice trip!!!

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 11:26 am

  17. Skip Vandegrift

    Great vision. Great execution (as always).

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 10:49 am

    • You know I try and keep up with your high standards… thanks for the visit.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:22 am

  18. I really like the way you capture the overlooked, like Mussel Beach.

    My favorite in this series is the first: Serenity

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 10:27 am

    • Thanks John… sometimes the squirrel finds the nut and sometimes as in my case you step on it 🙂

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:21 am

  19. Lovely, lovely, lovely.

    Now I can’t wait to see the prints!

    Pat

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 9:43 am

    • Yep… those prints did not come out as easily as i would have thought. Seems its tougher to bring out what i see on a back lit screen.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:20 am

  20. Mike, I really like the spiraling ferns and cable bridge! You always manage to find movement in your images. Nicely done.

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 8:50 am

    • Your right … although at times i only seem to feel my movement through the shot, then find out later by others insights… comment much appreciated.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:18 am

  21. Great images Mike, Maine sure looks and sounds like a nice place to visit.

    I particularly like the reflections in the “Serenity” image and the atmospheric look of “Lifting My Spirits”.

    You say you “… strolled out to the slippery point and concentrated on the shadows and how the tide and waves were moving in…”. With a name like that, and giving it’s position, I’d have been concentrating on foot placement 🙂

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 8:49 am

    • Oh, that reflection is what drew me in…. slippery is an understatement… talking micro-baby steps 🙂

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:16 am

  22. Great series; love the bridges. I can relate to the weather bit – am currently traveling up the North Shore of MN – we have been inundated with thick, heavy fog since our arrival in Duluth. Not so good for lake view shots, but very nice for waterfalls.

    Like

    July 9, 2013 at 8:28 am

    • Oh yeah… great light for moving water… love it when that happens… not so much the fog. Keep up the trip post… its a cool journey for me to follow along.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:11 am

  23. Beautiful series – one of my favorite places! Nicely done.

    Like

    July 8, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    • Thanks Tina for the visit and comment.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:09 am

  24. Great post Mike! I just love Maine in fact I love it so much that on August 1st we’ll be moving to Maine (Damariscotta)! So on your next trip to Maine you will have to plan and stop by to visit. I’ll be located a few miles up the peninsula from Pemaquid light. Our new home will be waterfront on a 168 acre fresh water pond. Sweet!

    Like

    July 8, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    • Oh… thats tooo inviting… love shooting at the lighthouse.

      Like

      July 17, 2013 at 12:09 am

  25. Amazing series of captures!

    Like

    July 8, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Hey...let me know what you think!!!

