My photo blog… visual thoughts around me.

” Sakura Festival “

Pond of Reflection

Pond of Reflection

Sakura, in Japanese culture, translates to ‘Cherry Blossom’. This festival was scheduled to happen at a special park in Philadelphia. With my interest and curiosity tweaked, I decided to try and capture it through my lens.

   drums beating in time
   maidens twirling and frozen
   slow meticulous

The atmosphere of a festival can be both intoxicating and informative, especially one from a different culture than what I grew up in. Suddenly all that is foreign, becomes a reality into which one can immerse their senses.

   bright circular fans
   smiles and rhythms flow with pride
   a past brought to life

While walking from one end of the park to the other, trying to catch each event can become a challenge, but the subconscious snap of my mind and shutter revealed its own rewards.

   luminescent ripples
   the essence in a single pond
   zen like images

The aura and satisfaction that a few hours away from home can bring to ones soul helped me develop a more trans-formative outlook on the world… lets pass it forward!!!

15 responses

  1. Beautiful images and smiling faces. Event photography really suits your style… very well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    September 3, 2015 at 12:09 pm

    • Its really weird but you are right, even though I kinda stumble upon different events to fill in lulls from month to month.

      Like

      September 3, 2015 at 6:04 pm

  2. Great series Mike!

    Like

    August 23, 2015 at 10:09 am

  3. Photography often gets described as capturing a moment. However this isn’t always the case. You show us here how photography can also be used to capture an experience. Your images, each one showing some masterful instincts and skills, shares your experience beautifully. Throw in a little haiku and I’m starting to sing that old Vapors’ song…”I’m turning Japanese”.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 12, 2015 at 7:00 am

    • Wow… very well said… I like the test, yes I do remember that song 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      August 12, 2015 at 9:50 pm

  4. What a wonderful opportunity! I’m captivated by your image of the young woman in #9 and by the three fish studies–and your treatment of the last one simply drew me in deeper and deeper. . . I can’t stop looking at it!

    Liked by 1 person

    August 11, 2015 at 4:01 pm

    • Those treatments came through a lot of experiments.. just starting to get use to this type of developing… thank you as I too thought they lent themselves to the essay.

      Like

      August 12, 2015 at 9:53 pm

  5. Stunning images that remind me of an experience in Tokyo.

    Like

    August 11, 2015 at 2:44 pm

    • Thanks Lulu for taking the time to comment.

      Like

      August 12, 2015 at 9:57 pm

  6. Mike I think I need to go and shoot some photos with You I”M sure I”ll learn something Tony Bokeko

    Liked by 1 person

    August 11, 2015 at 2:10 pm

    • Believe it or not I take peeps with me all the time… I do not do it to teach but to experience a place together and feed off of each others creativity.

      Like

      August 12, 2015 at 10:03 pm

  7. robertldoc

    Nice work, Mike! Bob Robert Levy Photoblog: http://www.photos4health.org Photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/photos4health/sets/ Email: robertldoc@gmail.com

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    August 11, 2015 at 11:16 am

    • Hey Bob… I see you found the ‘official’ site and coms section… welcome and thanks for staying in touch.

      Like

      August 12, 2015 at 10:05 pm

  8. wonderful….a joyful tableau

    Liked by 1 person

    August 11, 2015 at 11:03 am

    • Glad it resonated with you as much as it did I.

      Like

      August 12, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Hey...let me know what you think!!!

