My photo blog… visual thoughts around me.

” ART of DECAY “

"Weeping Window"

“Weeping Window”

My use of photography to document, enlighten or just to visually interpret what is placed before me, has taken me on many journeys, with just as many side paths. The photographs below represent a creative vision that both revealed its beauty and exposed the art which was created by the decay.

An invitation to shoot a once state of the art lab that had been left abandoned and for the most part almost unrecognizable as its former self, was an offer not to be missed. The day was cold, but not unbearable, with a bright sun overhead. Snow covered many of the exposed areas surrounding the buildings, giving it an almost peaceful setting. A large opening in the front of the main building was the starting point of my exploration inside. The layout felt just like city streets, pretty much straight hallways with lab rooms and other halls branching off. I stayed in the first room and just took it all in, the light and geometric lines would guide both my eye and imagination. I quickly became enlightened by what the decomposed walls and floors offered my compositions. Colors and patterns would emerge so that I could isolate an image and bring a different twist to what was before me. This alternative view would be expanded upon later in the digital darkroom. Corridor, and room after room revealed just how the elements could break down a seemingly sound structure. The weakest part to this demise was the ceilings, and whatever they were made of, which just seemed to melt and opened up this place to the weather.

The decayed, deteriorated and degraded interior of this site enhanced the twist I alluded to earlier. With the many holes, came the opportunity of light to play a big part of what I could manipulate into my artistic vision of this place. To accentuate this raw ruin into an artistic photograph, I would have to take up to seven shots of the same scene in order to bring enough light into the shadows and tame the really bright areas.

The decay is like an ever-changing canvas upon which time will either enhance or remove its form till all that is left is a witness to its existence… a photograph. My hope is that you can see into and past the rot, corrosion and eventual collapse of this site while becoming entertained, even engaged by its art.

ps… for detailed background and another photographer’s vision on this place, please follow this link to Rich Lewis’ blog.

19 responses

  1. Pingback: An Abandoned Laboratory - Richard Lewis Photography

  2. katmcdaniel

    Beautiful work! Isn’t it amazing that the decay actually makes these places interesting? They would be sterile and unphotogenic in normal circumstances. Thanks for catching their poetry.

    Like

    August 14, 2016 at 8:31 pm

  3. Great series Mike. I like that you sought out more intimate compositions in addition to a few overall scenes. Your processing really brought out the decay. My favorites are lab-3, lab4-4 and lab 4-5. That last one looks like icicles in a fireplace.

    Like

    June 14, 2016 at 2:54 pm

    • Hey… it was icicles in the fireplace … big 🙂 As you know we tend to shoot many things when on site, but it was those details that seem to drive my work lately.

      Like

      July 19, 2016 at 11:51 am

  4. You are a lucky guy to get a chance to shoot inside this fascinating abandoned place. Great phots!

    Like

    June 4, 2016 at 7:17 pm

    • Thanks Truels… always great to hear from you. From the outside ,it could easily blend into the environment.

      Like

      July 19, 2016 at 11:47 am

  5. Pingback: An Abandoned Laboratory | Painting With A Camera

  6. Jeff Feeny

    Mike, Someday when i am a good as you i want to send out cool stuff like this to my fellow photographers! Nice work man! You doing photo in a bag? Jeff

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    March 11, 2016 at 6:55 pm

    • Your too kind… sorry no bag for me… I leave that up to the really creative, out of the bag (box) peeps like yourself. That Dbl exposure composite still resonates with me… kudos my friend!!!!

      Like

      March 25, 2016 at 11:08 am

  7. I’m willing to bet you still look to the clouds for shapes and grains of wood for silhouettes. Your perspective never fails to inspire; lovely, Mike.

    Liked by 1 person

    March 7, 2016 at 9:57 pm

    • LOL… you know me too well. Thank you Marie for the insight in your comment.

      Like

      March 7, 2016 at 10:50 pm

  8. Weeping window is really amazing. This blog is extra interesting and fun for me. Wonderful description and images. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    March 7, 2016 at 9:09 pm

    • My fav too Beth… big thanks for the comment.

      Like

      March 7, 2016 at 10:47 pm

  9. Mike, you never cease to amaze me with your work. We were in the same place at the same time, yet your vision is so different. Your sensitivity to light, color, shapes and composition makes this set of images not necessarily about a funky old laboratory. They are about the Art of Decay. Well done my friend. Thanks for the shoutout by the way.

    Liked by 3 people

    March 7, 2016 at 9:04 pm

    • And without you and your support this would not have happened!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      March 7, 2016 at 10:46 pm

  10. It looks really cool…like something out of the Silent Hill games. Good work. Stay safe in those places, too.

    Like

    March 7, 2016 at 6:44 pm

  11. This is such a unique perspective. Whereas most people might look past decay and crumbling walls, you’ve displayed it as art!

    Liked by 2 people

    March 7, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Hey...let me know what you think!!!

